Natural Birth
Options

List of Questions for the Midwife

I'm  17 weeks pregnant, high risk, and will be attempting a VBAC in a hospital. I see my OB once a month and my MFM every other week for ultrasounds, and while both okayed my desire of a trial by labor without batting an eyelash, I'm new to both this hospital and my doctors' respective practices, and I'm nervous. 

My OB's clinic has CNMs, all of whom have privileges at the hospital I'm going to be giving birth at, so I'm ASSUMING the hospital is fairly natural birth friendly, but I'm not certain. I had to go with an OB over a midwife because the practice doesn't allow them to deal with high risk patients, but because of scheduling conflicts, the receptionist at the practice put me with one of the midwives for my next OB appointment. I'm going straight from there to an ultrasound with my MFM, so I'm not in the least bit concerned about not seeing my OB that day. 

I AM thrilled to have this one chance to bombard the midwife with questions about hospital policy, the openness of the doctors I'm working with, and anything else that may help me to have the birth experience I so badly want this time around. I've worked out a list of things to ask, but I KNOW I'm forgetting stuff. Could ya'll glance over my list and point out anything I've missed? 

Are VBACs common and considered normal at this hospital?

What are the policies surrounding them? How do the rules change for a VBAC? 

Are VBAC patients considered candidates for induction measures? If so, what methods are used, and how common are they? How many hours are you allowed to labor without sign of distress before hospital staff grows uncomfortable?

Is the L&D staff, as a whole, natural-birth friendly? How seriously do they take birth plans? Are there things I can do to make my birth plan more "staff friendly" for this particular hospital? 

How common are episiotomies; are other measures taken or encouraged?