High-Risk Pregnancy
Options

diabetes

This is my first time writing and first pregnancy,ok well i just found out im 6 weeks pregnant and two weeks prior to that i was told i am pre diabetic! This is all scary to me and my husband.I keep reading up on everything that could go wrong and its freaking me out. I cant get in to my endogronologist till feb! im trying to watch what i eat but it has been changing everyday. Im just really nervous and scared has anyone else ever had or have this problem? Thank you ladies

Re: diabetes

• Options
    I would get  a machine to check my blood sugars.  I would also insist on seeing someone so that they can help you with regulating your sugar levels.  BTW, just because it can happen doesn't mean it will, you just have to take care of yourself and watch your blood sugar levels. 
    Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker BabyFetus Ticker
  • Options

thank you i have been now 4 times a day and so far so good!

• Loading the player...
  • Options
    I've been diabetic since I was 3 but didn't monitor my sugars before getting pregnant b/c we weren't trying. Don't fret about it, at least you know now and have a chance to whip into shape with it. I agree with PP, get a machine for your sugars ASAP. I check them before I eat but since you're not on meds yet it's kinda tough. Cut down on complex carbs and eat tons of protein and veggies. Don't worry about what you read, it's not like all the horrible things will all happen. You have a chance of having a heavy baby, a baby who's diabetic or hyperglycemic/hypoglycemic. If you are one of those people who could care less, which I doubt since you're posting about how worried you are, and eat tons and tons of sweets you do run the risk of mis-carriage. That's why I am urging you to cut out carbs! A little info...fiber in food cancels out carbs. EX: You find bread that has 15 g. of carbs and 3 g. of fiber....that means the bread actually has 12 g. of fiber. Voila!