1st Trimester

Scared to death

I am about six weeks and six days. The day I found out I was pregnant, I was so happy. My husband and I have been trying and so this is planned. The next day, I felt like a car hit me and I felt this wave of anxiety starting to crush me. Now I feel so crushed and paralyzed by fear and anxiety.

Ironically, I am a labour and delivery nurse and so, I am not foreign to anything. But I feel so disconnected. I had some bleeding and because I was at work, I was able to get the doctor to perform an ultrasound and blood work. Everything on the ultrasound and blood work looked good. Not only was I able to see the babys heart beating but I also had an opportunity to hear the heartbeat. I FaceTime my husband who started crying after hearing the heartbeat. I on the other hand, felt fear and anxiety crushing me to the point that I just felt nauseous. I did not cry, I didn’t feel emotional, I just felt fear and nausea.

I feel guilty admitting that my first thought when I saw the bleeding was maybe I miscarried and a part of me felt relieved but then I feel guilty thinking that because, this baby is all I wanted.

I feel like now that it’s happening I can’t shake this feeling anxiety out of me. I feel anger and I hate talking to people about my pregnancy. They all are so excited and happy but I don’t feel the same.

Need help

Re: Scared to death

• This is not average FTM worries. If it is negatively affecting your life this much please talk to your doctor about it.
    DD1: June '16 DD2: March ‘19 :::: Married since 2011 :::: USN Wife ::::
  • I’m so happy you reached out instead of trying to fight this on your own!

Please find a doctor that will be able to help you cope with what’s going on, my sister was the same way during her last pregnancy and after she spoke with someone she did a lot better! Hope you start to feel better soon mama, congrats ❤️
  • Loading the player...