December 2022 Moms
Options

Maternity Leave

I shouldn't be shocked, but I just found out my maternity leave is considered "voluntary leave" and is unpaid. While my husband has a good job, it's not enough to be the sole income for all of our bills. I'm looking for some insight as to how other moms have managed leave without pay, how long you took (the standard six weeks, more time, or less time), and if you have any tips to get through it financially! Asking now since we have plenty of time to start saving up and preparing for that time I'll be out of work. I'm super stressed! 

Re: Maternity Leave

• Options
    That's very frustrating. I'm sorry. I don't have personal experience in this but I read that some folks use short term disability after child birth. I'm not sure if that's an option that would work for you but it might be worth looking at. 
  • Options
    bunnieceebunniecee member
    edited April 2022

I’m a tattoo artist, which means independent contractor so no PTO of any kind. With my first, which was almost 10 years ago now, we struggled through and I had to go back to work as soon as I was cleared from having my C-section. My husband was working all the overtime he possibly could before and after delivery to keep us going so it was lonely and exhausting most of the time. It felt like we were playing catch-up for awhile after I went back to work, too. I also had a series of health complications which left me on partial bed rest towards the end of the pregnancy so that didn’t help either leading into it. I wish I had some actual advise for how to make it easier, but if you start budgeting now and stocking up on diapers/wipes and anything non perishable or freezable, it helps make covering the other expenses when the time comes a little easier.