Cloth Diapering

New to CD - Doing research

Hello all. I'm new to cloth diapering. I have a 5-year-old who was raised on disposables. At the time the whole thing seemed daunting to a working, first-time mom. But knowing what I know now, I'm ready to give CD another shot, for mostly environmental reasons and saving money is a nice plus too. All this info is making my head spin though. I'm seeing GroVia and BumGenius seem to be a couple of the more popular and recommended hybrids. Has anyone tried anything else they swear by? I'm also concerned about how easy the cleaning process is once we switch to solid foods. Neither of us really want to worry too much about cleaning poop every night after a 10+ hour work day. Has anyone tried rentals and would you recommend renting??? I found one online: https://jilliansdrawers.com/products/newborn-cloth-diaper-rental-pick-diapers-here. Thanks all in advance!
Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker
imageimage

Re: New to CD - Doing research

• I have used neither of those brands. I do know people who like BumGenius though. I have a couple friends who really like their pockets. 

I have fitteds and covers, which I like. I think having two separate sets of elastic really helps contain poo-splosions. It's also one of the less expensive options and is easy to add extra padding for night times. 

I'll be honest, switching to solids is not fun. When I researched, I see lots of people talking about how, once you're on solids, poops become "ploppable" - they're firm and just "plop" out of the diaper and into the toilet. I think this really depends on how fast you wean. We added solids at six months, but I'm a proponent of "until they're 1, food is for fun." So my daughter was still on 90% breast milk until just over a year, and her poops were super soft and had to be sprayed out for all that time. They weren't ploppable until she was on more than 40-50% solids. So yea, not much fun.