C-sections
Options

A few questions about running, recovery etc

I an 3 weeks post c section and wondering if any runners could tell me when they were back to running. My doctor said 6 weeks but at 3 weeks I'm still in a lot of pain and even walking hurts. I'm improving but nowhere near better. 

Also wondering if anyone has had long term problems from a c section like pain at the incision site?

im struggling with the recovery process particularly because I can't be active with my toddler and carry her etc. 

would love to hear more from those who have been through this already!

Re: A few questions about running, recovery etc

• Options
    I had a cesarean birth after 36 hours of labor and baby not descending. My recovery was pretty rough, I took pain killers round the clock for 5 weeks.

I'm a acupuncturist/prenatal yoga teacher that specializes in woman's health, especially post partum recovery. So my comments are from my personal experience and professional training. My goal no matter what type of birth i had, was to do as close to nothing the first 40days pp. No laundry, no cooking, no cleaning-nothing! I educated my husband and mom on my wishes and got them on board.

The short answer is yes you can have long term problems with your scar if you over do it now, but many women will tell you stories of how they were fine by 5 days, 3 weeks, 4 weeks ect ect... me personally I was not fine, but I tend to err on the side of caution while healing. Also in Chinese medicine it is believed that the future if your reproductive health rests completely on really taking good care of yourself in this precious first 40days.