Working Moms

Am I a failure?

I am an attorney and mother of 3 small children (8, 5 and 2), and work 24-30 hours week, making between $70-90K per year, depending on how good the year.  I have two degrees from a prestigious university, but receive constant criticism from my H regarding my salary, who says I have nothing to show for my education.  This will be a $70K year.  Am I a failure?  

Re: Am I a failure?

• I hardly think that salary is the yardstick by which to measure success. Is your family happy and provided for? Are you fulfilled by the work you do? Do you feel you have a good work/life balance? These things are far more important and more difficult to quantify than salary. Perhaps his criticism comes from dissatisfaction with his own career or work/life balance or the pressure of being a primary breadwinner (I’m assuming here). I certainly think that it requires more of a discussion than it seems you’ve had. And if it bothers you or you disagree with his opinion, then speak up for yourself and say so. Don’t just let him put down your achievements because your paycheck isn’t 6 figures.
    DD1: June '16 DD2: March ‘19 :::: Married since 2011 :::: USN Wife ::::
  • I hardly think you’re failure. Success isn’t judged by a salary and even if it was $70k is more than plenty of people make. 
    I think that’s a pretty awful thing for your husband to be saying 
  • Loading the player...