Breastfeeding
Options

Teaspoons of Breast Milk

Hello I am a new FTM and this is my first time posting.

I am having simply a horrendous time trying to breastfeed. LO arrived via C-section 6 weeks ago and I had reasonable milk supply after coming home from the hospital. I was getting about 2 ounces from each breast each time I pumped. 

Then my incision got infected and I got cellulitis - 3 emergency room visits, 2 courses of antibiotics, and a whole lot of diarrhea later and my milk supply was just dribbles. 

DD will occasionally latch really well! A couple of days ago I even had her nurse for a full 20 minutes! But most of the time she's not having it and will just scream at my boobs and kick at my stomach like a velociraptor until we give her a bottle. To boot, I am power pumping every few hours, taking supplements, drinking 6+ liters of water, and chowing down on some lactation treats to be rewarded with maybe a teaspoon from each boob each time. 

I am eating a bowl of oatmeal every day as well as oatmeal bars. We tried a nipple shield. I am a moringa-eating queen right now. I am getting plenty of calories and try to eat high-protein. I have been working with lactation consultants and three different doctors. 

Breastfeeding is extremely important to me and I feel like I can't give up on what I feel is best for my baby girl. My husband and immediate family are incredible and have been very supportive, but I feel alone in the world of moms. During pregnancy I had imagined myself with a freezer full of breast milk and donating excess to other babies. Now, I just feel so, so inadequate and a big failure. I have such terrible anxiety about what my low supply will mean for the health of DD and myself.