September 2017 Moms

Failed VBAC Birth Story

PKFMommiePKFMommie member
edited October 2017 in September 2017 Moms

I wanted to share this because I am the unfortunate 1 in 4 whom does not have a successful VBAC. Although baby ends up fine (as far as we know), and mom is (slowly) recovering, it is a bit of an emotionally difficult story to tell.

I did all the research.  I studied online classes, I wrote my husband a 1.5 page cheat sheet.  I couldn’t afford a doula (at least I thought I couldn’t, but in hindsight I could have).  I had a good estimated chance of success… 75% according to the MFM calculators.  I exercised 2.5 hours a day right up to the day before I went in to labor.  I watched my diet and weight gain.  Unfortunately, I couldn’t change doctors because of crappy insurance and I was “too busy” and tired to get it done and by the time I found someone else, I was too far in the pregnancy for their practice to accept me.

I went into labor at 4am.  I had been 2cm at that point.  Contractions were quickly 2 mins apart, one minute each, and I went to the hospital at 6am and was 4cm with a low baby, good FHR and no decelerations.  Pain was there, but standing helped me cope.

At 7am they kept putting me in bed, asking questions, and I started to get stressed out.  FHR was still good, but by 7:30, after a lecture from the on call doctor, my own doctor calling in to lecture me, and the anesthesiologist… I agreed to an epidural because I was basically scared into it. I was 5cm when I ended up bed bound.