October 2017 Moms
Options

Mom nurses?

hey everyone, I was wanting some input from some of you that may of went through nursing school with kids. I have options and I would like your opinion. The program I would be going into would by the LVN program at my local junior college. I have the option of starting in January, when baby is 3 months old, or waiting and staring in September, when baby is almost a year old, or waiting until she is in preschool. The program is exactly 3 semesters long, and it is Monday-Friday 8-2 (clinicals included). I am determined to finish my nursing degree, ultimately with my RN. What is your advice? 

Re: Mom nurses?

• Options
    I didn't go through nursing school with children (but I am a nurse), but my sister did. I believe my niece was just a few weeks old when she started, since she turned 2 a couple months after my sister graduated. Our program is quite stressful. She didn't have the most supportive boyfriend, but our family stepped in and helped her a lot. I would say if you can swing daycare or have someone who can watch your LO, do it when LO is a couple months old. Or wait til preschool age. Right around 1 babies go through separation anxiety so having to leave LO every day will be  hard adjustment for a while for the baby. If you start sooner rather than later the baby won't know anything different and hopefully will be used to your busy schedule. My sister just did homework when my niece was sleeping. She survived and is now less than a year away from being a NP. Good luck with whatever you decide to do! 
  • Options