September 2017 Moms

Post-partum prep

Breath_Easy92Breath_Easy92 member
edited July 2017 in September 2017 Moms
Disclaimer:  I hope it's okay that I am starting this thread, I'm not very good at searching but I didn't find anything like it! This might be a tad early for some people but I know @Rhubarb7216 and I are down for the count, Im not sure if anyone else is having to go a little early or not.

What is everyone doing in terms of prepping for post baby? Like frozen meals, padsicles, anyone having someone come help the first few days, etc. Do any second time moms have any advice? Or does anyone have any good ideas they want to share? 

Re: Post-partum prep

• I made about 12 padciles last night (I'm really hopeful things will go well and I won't need a C-Section). I didn't know how many I would want but that seemed like a reasonable number. 

For anyone looking for a recipe this is what I used:
    -maxi pads unwrap but keep wrapper
    -aloe vera (the clear kind) and I spread a thin layer on the whole thing.
    -I used an alcohol free witch hazel spray over top. (I thought the spray seemed less messy).
    -then I topped it off with about 5-10 drops of lavender essential oil but this is probably optional. I read it could reduce swelling but I'm skeptical, I just like the smell.
    -then I wrapped them back up and put the back in the plastic package they came in.
    -put in the freezer. 
  • Thanks for starting this thread @Breath_Easy92 ! Yup, the countdown is on for us...20 more days here (assuming baby doesn't decide to come before my induction date).

So far I have done the following for post partum prep:
    -Stocked up on: two different sizes of pads, dermaplast spray, witch hazel pads (need to put one of the boxes of pads in the fridge to chill for when we get home from hospital)
    -Made one freezer meal (in a quantity that will probably be enough for 2 meals each for my husband and me)