Breastfeeding
Options

Is Spectra S1 worth the upgrade?

I have done some reading and based on reviews I really like the Spectra pump. My instance can provide the S2 free of charge but the S2 has no battery. the S1 does have a battery but is a $95 upcharge. I do work from home so obviously this is where I will be pumping most of the time but I am not sure if there are other occasions where the battery would be very helpful (like if you are on a longer drive, travel, etc), so I am trying to figure out if the upgrade is worth it. What is your experience?

Thank you in advance! 

Re: Is Spectra S1 worth the upgrade?

• Options
    I have zero experience with this pump but I wanted to mention that you can easily purchase a power inverter that plugs into the cigarette lighter in your car that then supplies a regular outlet. This is my plan for long car rides since my Medela requires an outlet.
  • Options
    Any sort of travel I do I bring a hand pump. You don't have to worry about batteries, it's small and fits in a purse. Not recommended for regular use due to hand cramping, but it's a good cheap back up.
    DD1: June '16 DD2: March ‘19 :::: Married since 2011 :::: USN Wife ::::
  • Loading the player...
  • Options
    Depends on where you'll be using the pump most often. If you'll always have consistent acess to a plug you're probably fine without a battery or just a car charger as needed. I never had access to a plug at work so I opted for a battery and it's made it much easier. 

Me: 35, Hubbie: 33
    Married DH: 2013
    DD: Dec 2015
    BFP 8/14/17 --> Due 4/27/2018

Babysizer Geeky Pregnancy Tracker

• Options
    I have a Spectra S1 (insurance covered both S1 and S2).  I don't typically need the cordless feature, but it's nice to have it if I do.  i will say that it's an excellent pump, overall. 
  • Options