September 2017 Moms

Maternity Leave Meeting

I have my maternity leave meeting with HR tomorrow.  I am a teacher so it needed to be before summer break.

Suddenly I don't feel very prepared.  This may be more for those who have already done this, but is there any specific questions I should be asking HR in terms of leave?

I know each employer is different, but any help or suggestions would be appreciated.  Thanks!

Re: Maternity Leave Meeting

• I would make sure you leave the meeting understanding how much time you're allowed to take off, how much of that you can get paid for, and how your leave impacts your benefits. My employer continues to pay for health insurance for the first 8 weeks, but after that you have to pay yourself (fortunately I'm on my husband's insurance, so won't be an issue for me), so being aware of those types of things is important so you can plan accordingly.
  • .. Do they have these meetings for other jobs..? I guess I should call and ask and find out the officials of my maternity leave..

Me: 27 years old            DH: 27 years old
    Type 1 Diabetes since 2001, MTHFR hetero A1298T
    Dogs: Raider 4 yrs, Dex 4 yrs
    Married in July 2014
    TTC #1 since late Feb 2016
    BFP #1 3/29/16     MMC: 5/5/16
    BFP #2 7/6/16    SCH, D&C 8/4/16
    BFP #3 12/26/16     EDD: 9/6/17
    My Chart / My Diabetes/Pregnancy Blog
    My Type 1/TTC/Pregnancy Podcast: 
    Juicebox Podcast Episode 118
    A1Cs:
    1/12/16 6.7%
    5/25/16 6.0%
    11/2/16 6.1%
    3/22/16 5.8%
    4/27/17 5.4%
    6/13/17 5.3%

"Sugar Fancy Tutu"
  • Loading the player...
  • winerenwineren member
    I think it depends on where you work. I just tell my supervisor and she talks to HR to make sure everything gets set up and will email them if I have any questions. I totally could email them directly but I get much faster results if she does it.