May 2017 Moms

Amniotic fluid? How to tell??

Anyone have any experience with leaking fluid? Is it very obvious? Or accompanied by any discomfort? I'm not having contractions but I feel like I'm being punched in the cervix and have so much pressure. I have an appt Tuesday but I think I'm going to call in the morning. I'm not having like fluid running down my leg or anything like that. It just feels like tiny gushes a few times today... almost like when I pee and sneeze or cough. That's the best way to describe. 

BabyFruit Ticker

Re: Amniotic fluid? How to tell??

• I mean when I sneeze or cough it's definitely pee. My water had to be broken by the doctor with DD so I have no experience, but I've heard people feel a pop. It won't hurt to call and check! If you fill a pad in one hour I would go to L&D. They can swab for the fluid.
  • @bacorrea i had my water break after induction with ds1 and had it broken with ds2 so I don't know. But I'm thinking maybe it's just a weird sensation. TMI there is lots of cervixal mucus so maybe that's all I'm noticing. It's just different today than before. Definitely not enough to fill a pad or even soak underwear. That's why I'm comfortable enough to just call the OB tomorrow. 

BabyFruit Ticker
  • Loading the player...
  • Supposedly it smells sweet. So maybe put on a pad or liner, wait until it's wet and then smell it? I know...gross. 
  • No idea. But a little pee while coughing or sneezing is so common especially when you've had a baby in the past.  The positioning of LO could be making it worse.  I would be more concerned about leaking when not doing anything. At the very least, a call would not hurt!

• Thank you ladies. Just worries me because he's so damn low in there and I'm so huge and so is he. And since my last was early(3 weeks from this point) I worry this baby will come earlier. Praying it's nothing. I haven't had anything happen in the last few hours. 

BabyFruit Ticker