April 2016 Moms

Nebulizer Treatments (Tips & Info)

Yesterday, I took my son to the doctor for a wellness check since he's been showing cold-like symptoms since Friday night.The doctor told me that LO would need a nebulizer.  :(

On a positive note, I got a free one with my insurance right there in the office. 

Right now, he's on half a dose/tube of albuterol 3 times a day for 7-10 days. The first time he was on it (last night), he screamed bloody murder. I tried again for his morning treatment today and he was swatting the mask like a fly.

Can anyone provide any tips on getting baby to stay calm during the treatments? 
Thanks! :) 

Re: Nebulizer Treatments (Tips & Info)

• I have zero experience with this so I'm just stabbing the dark, but can you swaddle him to keep his hands out of the way? 
  • LO has been breaking free since around 6 weeks. We haven't swaddled him since.
    I can try it...but I doubt that he'll stay in there. 
    I've tried talking/singing to him so that he can look at my face and not focus on the mask....he's just not having it.
  • Loading the player...
  • DS1 didnt start to need treatments until he was closer to 12months. But I would have H told him down and I would dance like a crazy fool to distract him. I would also remind him that it was scary but didnt hurt. 

On one positive note, if they are screaming, they are breathing hard. And those deep breathes will help the treatment finish faster. So silver lining?

**** Formerly Snoflakes4eva****

Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker

Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker
  • DS1 didnt start to need treatments until he was closer to 12months. But I would have H told him down and I would dance like a crazy fool to distract him. I would also remind him that it was scary but didnt hurt. 

On one positive note, if they are screaming, they are breathing hard. And those deep breathes will help the treatment finish faster. So silver lining?