June 2016 Moms

Work from Home? Or go back...

Hi Ladies!  I'm a teacher and since my LO was born at the start of the summer, I've been lucky to be able to be at home with her all summer on break and my maternity leave officially starts now.  I will be home with her for the next 12 weeks.  I'm really struggling with having to go back even then.  My job is crazy stressful and just being back for half days the past couple of days getting my maternity leave sub up to speed was exhausting.  I just can't imagine going to work all day with that level of stress and exhaustion and then having anything left for my baby when I pick her up at the end of the day.  I'm desperately wishing I could stay home with her indefinitely.  The thing is we need my income, too.  I think we could get by with my income being less than it is currently, so I'm wondering if there are work from home options out there that would let me work flexible part time hours from home.  Anyone have any insight into this or already do this? I have a teaching degree and a masters in instructional tech and I'm artistic (have an etsy shop selling my photography) and can do design work.  Anyone else in this boat? I've mentioned it to DH but we haven't discussed it at a serious level.  I feel like if I had realistic options we could consider it. 

Re: Work from Home? Or go back...

• I am not in your boat, but I have a banking background -- some banks have an instructional design position in their HR department.. It's part of the learning & training team.  Those people always worked from home, and very rarely had to go to the office for team meetings or presentations..  might be something to look into :)  good luck!