May 2016 Moms
Options

Tongue Tie

Hello! I've been a long time lurker so I apologize that this is my first time contributing to the board but I'm wondering if anyone has any experience with a problem my LO and I are having. 

I recently saw an IBCLC who told me LO has a submucosal tongue tie, so it is not visible and doesn't look like a classic tongue tie. LO is almost 10 weeks and I am still in a lot of pain (I use a nipple shield because it hurts too much without it), he has difficulty eating efficiently, and is not gaining weight as quickly as the pediatrician would like along with a few other problems.  

My question is does anyone have any experience with this type of tie? Did having surgery help with BF? I was warned that having it worked on may not immediately address our problems and it may take some time. We are already supplementing with formula and expressed milk. I'm trying to decide if it is worth fixing or if I should give up BF. I would hate to give up because we've been working so hard to make this work. 

Sorry this is so long. Thanks for any help!

Re: Tongue Tie

• Options
    I don't have experience with your exact issue, but LO did have trouble with BF- I overproduce so he didn't get enough hind milk and nursed too long so he burned up more calories than he was taking in. As a result, I transitioned to EP, which has worked well for us. I had wanted to move back to BF, but LO repeatedly rejected it for the bottle.

The decision on what to do is very personal. I think you just have to access your situation and values to determine what's most important to you.

As a note, my understanding is that tongue tie is typically the go to explanation for BF issues. A lactation consultant tried to convince me that was the issue, but when I had a Ped check it out, they said there was no tie. I'd just recommend getting a second opinion before proceeding, if you decide to go that route.
  • Options