Miscarriage/Pregnancy Loss

Miscarriage with Misoprostol: How long did you cramp and bleed after?

Hello all,

Sadly my husband and I found on on December 28th that we had a blight ovum and were having a missed miscarriage. It was reconfirmed on January 4th and my body still was showing no signs of miscarriage naturally. We opted for the Misoprostol tablets. I placed 4 in my vagina Friday AM and around 3pm I had cramping and starting passing my first clots. It was intense and pretty sure it all came out. I was only measuring 6w 3dys. Saturday I was only spotting and felt great. Sunday I started having cramping again and bleeding more like a period with some clots. It is 5 days later (tuesday) and I still have cramping and period like bleeding with small clots.

How long did you bleed after your misscarriage with Misoprostol?
When did you get your period after?
How long before you conceived again?  

Thank you for your answers, I am new to this and so sad and anxious to try again. 

Best! Tara

Re: Miscarriage with Misoprostol: How long did you cramp and bleed after?

• I did oral misoprostol tablets on 12/30 after finding out our baby had no heartbeat. It took about 2-3 hours before the cramps started. The worst cramps stopped within 24 hours, but I am still expelling some tissue and blood 2 weeks later. My doctor has been monitoring my HCG levels, to make sure they fall low enough so my body realizes I am no longer pregnant. She told me that if I don't have a period in 6 weeks (from the day I took the misoprostol), I should call her and start taking progesterone to trigger a period. 

• I'm sorry for your loss. I bled for about a month after taking Cytotec for MMC in mid-November. I then had light spotting for about two weeks and then a normal period. My doctor monitored my HCG, which returned to 0 about the same time the bleeding stopped. She also did a u/s to ensure everything passed.

I haven't conceived yet, so I can't answer that question.

Me: 33     H: 36