Breastfeeding

Plugged ducts from pumping

Does this happen to anyone else? I know baby empties you more than a pump, but every time I'm away and have to pump for the day, I get plugs. I only work per diem right now, but I worry about when I go back full time. If I'm home and pump once or twice a day it's not an issue as she nurses in between. It's usually after 2-3 exclusive pumping sessions. Suggestions?

Re: Plugged ducts from pumping

• Use warm compresses while you pump. Lansinoh makes gel ones that you heat up in the microwave. They're reasonably priced. Also, how long are you going between pumping sessions? I pump every 2 1/2 hours at work. That's more often then baby eats, but I haven't had clogs lately.
  • Good idea! I'd say 3 to 3 & 1/2 hours, definitely longer than if I was home. Unfortunately I won't have a choice when I go back full time, I'm a teacher so I have to pump on my prep block and lunch, so it'll be about 3 and a half hours then as well. I will try the compresses!
  • Loading the player...
  • Good idea! I'd say 3 to 3 & 1/2 hours, definitely longer than if I was home. Unfortunately I won't have a choice when I go back full time, I'm a teacher so I have to pump on my prep block and lunch, so it'll be about 3 and a half hours then as well. I will try the compresses!