Health & Exercise

Fitness and Workouts throughout Pregnancy

I've always done Zumba, yoga, and free weights prior to pregnancy. Love fitness and healthy eating! I am about 5-6 weeks pregnant with Baby #2. Tonight was Zumba cardio and during the workout I felt fine and was pushing myself like I always do. We did do a lot of jumps, turns, salsa, etc. My body is used to it! But after Zumba, I felt dizzy for the first time ever! I sat down on a chair at the gym and just rested. Drive home I had to pull over because I still needed to cool down. I had not eaten a real snack since lunch time-which is not like me. I am always eating 2-3 hours. My guess was that I overworked myself and low blood sugar due to pregnancy. It's hard to slow down since I am not feeling pregnant yet. I have no symptoms other than sore breasts. Has anyone ever had this dizziness after workouts happen? With my first I did a lot of walking and stuck to just that as my workout. I'm a teacher so with my first, my classroom was upstairs so I did 2 sets of stairs every day about 3-4 times a day also. Any suggestions for workouts? I have learned myself a lesson that's for sure. To just listen to your body! Maybe I need to stick to yoga and light workouts. What do you do for workouts?

Re: Fitness and Workouts throughout Pregnancy

• DH and I are just starting to TTC, but a co-worker of mine told me that she did a lot of yoga during her pregnancy, and was even teaching classes. She said it helped big time with the labor pains as it make it easier to breathe through contractions. I'm looking into starting a class or two per week, as I am a teacher as well. 

I personally love walking and could walk all day, if given the chance. :) 

I don't know if this helps you at all, and I know this is quite a bit later than your original post.