2nd Trimester

Why find out baby's sex before birth?

2»

Re: Why find out baby's sex before birth?

• Curiosity!! And also I can't stand the thought of someone else knowing more about the baby in my belly than me and my DH. In addition the baby name list get shortened when we can put either girls or boys name aside. However, if baby does not coop during a/s and sex aren't possible to determine we'll be fine with that too
  • I'm having a girl and don't want all her clothes and things to be super girly, but I'd find it hard to decorate and shop keeping it totally gender neutral.

Also I just wanted to know! Babies are babies and sex shouldn't make a huge difference but as I imagine what life will be like with her (my first) it's nice to know what I'll have.
  • Loading the player...
  • Somersky said:
    So this might be opening up a can of worms (and I'm a newb!), but I genuinely want to know. Having read some heated exchanges on these boards about gender norms, I'm wondering what reasons folks have for finding out their baby's sex before birth. Does curiosity get the best of you? Are there reasons besides gendered purchases that I haven't thought of and ought to consider? My plan now is not to find out, though I admit I'm curious. I'll also admit I plan to have a boy name and a girl name ready....though I've tried to think of one name that would work for both. (And there's a tension there in that I think traditionally boy names would probably be perceived by society at large as more acceptable for a girl than vice versa. Ugh!) If you have picked out a good boy+girl name, too, I'd love to hear it!