Birth Stories

Birth after a tear/episiotomy?

I am due with my second in March and my Dr informed me that because of my bad tear and episiotomy with my first delivery it might be better for me to have a c-section with this one. I'm just confused and unsure of how to proceed. I hadn't thought it was this big of a deal. Has anyone delivered fine after going through a previous episiotomy or tear? Did it tear again? Any input would be welcome. Thanks.

Re: Birth after a tear/episiotomy?

• I don't agree with your doctor. I'm not a doctor so take it as an opinion not fact. I had an episiotomy with my first, had a super tiny year with my second (got one stitch just donut didn't burn when I peed), and my third (now two weeks old) I didn't tear or anything.
  • I had a third degree tear and episiotomy with my first. I had a different doctor for my second, and I purposely never mentioned that I tore. During the birth he had me wait out the last contraction even though the nurses wanted me to push. I asked him after and he said I didn't tear at all and seemed surprised that I tore with my first. Maybe try to get a second opinion?
    TTGP December Siggy Challenge: Favourite Holiday Movie Moment

• Loading the player...
  • I have 2.  Tore with my first (epis which led to 3rd degree) but not second.  I have no idea how doctors determine need for c-section based on past deliveries though.
    Image and video hosting by TinyPic image
  • I tore with my first because the stupid Dr wasn't paying attention... I don't know the degree but to me it was horrible... With my second child he was 8 lbs 12 oz and I didn't tear at all... I agree to maybe getting a second opinion.