June 2016 Moms
Options

Struggling with Exhaustion

I'm currently 9 weeks pregnant and I have been struggling with dealing with how tired I am. No matter how much sleep I've been getting I'm still drained. I've been eating healthily and regularly. Taking supplements to help every morning. I'm not sure what else to try? :(

It's been making work very difficult to cope with (I work as a waitress in a cafe), I'm finding myself feeling so drained that I'm getting visibly grumpy, I get flustered and confused and unable to focus because of it, which makes busy periods at work in a short staffed place highly difficult. I need the hours at work but working all day is exhausting me and draining me, I keep napping and sleeping and just feeling crappy. Even had a cry when I got home after taking my tiredness out on my partner because I'm just feeling awful.

Any ladies have any advice on what I could do?
I keep getting told "you've only got about 3 weeks left until you should feel better!" but that seems like such a long time to deal with it
Any help would be great!

Re: Struggling with Exhaustion

• Options
    I don't know what to tell you other than it's normal, I feel for you, and I completely understand. I think many of us here, if not all, are struggling with this in some way, shape or form. I work full time, with an hour commute each way. I'm out the door by 5:30 am and home around 6 pm. I can't really nap during the day (I did sneak off for a 30 minute nap a couple of weeks ago), so I'm asleep on the couch by 7:30 most nights. 

The only things I might suggest are trying to keep up a healthy diet with nutrient dense foods, drinking lots of water and getting in some exercise. All of those things help, but not as much as I'd like. Other than that, it may just be a waiting game. From what I've heard, the second trimester gets better. 

Hang in there!
  • Options