3rd Trimester

When did you start maternity leave?

Question for STMs and ladies who have already gone on leave:

I'm a high school teacher and had originally planned on working until just over a week before my due date (the week before thanksgiving). I just found out today that I am eligible for up to four weeks of leave before baby comes through state disability insurance at 55% pay. I'm not just trying to take leave I don't need, my job needs me and I want to be there, but I'm definitely starting to get tired.

I'm wondering how long before their due dates other mamas were uncomfortable enough to start their leave, assuming they indented to work as long as possible?
Pregnancy Ticker

Re: When did you start maternity leave?

• My first I was put on bed rest at 26 weeks, this time I am going off at 8 months. I'm from Canada though, and it lasts a year, depending on how much you worked prior to having the baby.
    BabyFruit Ticker
    Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker
  • This is really different for everyone. I have a desk job and had no problem working up until my due date. Some people experience a lot more discomfort in 3rd tri than I did.

Any time I took off before baby meant less time off after baby. My due date was on a Friday and I always said that I wasn't going to work past my due date whether baby had come or not. I realized I was in labor within an hour of getting home from work that day.

• Loading the player...
  • I only had 12 weeks I could use (and would only be paid for 6 covered by short term disability and anything I chose to use my paid time off for).  I wanted to use all of it after having the baby.  I have a desk job.  I was at my desk on Friday and went into labor overnight Saturday into Sunday, had the baby on Sunday, started maternity leave Monday.