Baby Names

Maybe an unpopular opinion...

I'm pretty new to The Bump, but I can't help but notice how rude so many people are when it comes to baby names others are choosing. It seems that if a name has any originality at all, it's immediately shot down. I've noticed a lot of you are really cutting down "trendy" names and stating classic names as your preference, but it seems to me classic is the new trendy.

Sorry, just don't feel like it's necessary to cut down names people are considering for their children. Especially when I ready something along the lines of "how could you do that to your child?".

I thought this was a place we could support each other in our own personal journeys! You never know the sentiment or reasoning behind a name someone has chosen, originality is beautiful.

Re: Maybe an unpopular opinion...

• Loading the player...
  • I completely understand if a name is just absolutely ridiculous, but I've seen so many people really criticizing beautiful names just because they're a little different from the norm, I guess, in my opinion, it just feels pretty harsh for some people to be so rude.

The people that get the most out of this board are the people want honest feedback... To know what people will think of your LOs name, good or bad. If you don't care what other people think, there's no point in asking in the first place.

Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker

• Miss LilacMiss Lilac member
    edited October 2015
    Mmkay.

Feb '16 October Siggy Challenge: Favorite Candy

• This board is going to tell you what everyone in real life is thinking but is to polite to say to your face. Originally is not always beautiful. Zippy Uranus is original but is it beautiful (we all remember baby Zapp I assume?)