Anyone work from home? — The Bump
August 2015 Moms

Anyone work from home?

I'm 4 weeks pp, and I start back to work at the beginning of October. Actually, it's my first time working from home, so I'm not sure what to expect. Since I have to take calls and type in people's information, I don't think I can breastfeed and do my work at the same time, so I'm trying to figure out how much I should be pumping for a stay at home phone job, or see how other moms have managed it?

Re: Anyone work from home?

• I worked at home pre-baby and there were times I had to be on the phone for meetings but it wasn't ongoing all day. If the calls happen on and off all day it might be good to have someone there with you the first few days if possible (a friend or relative) because even bottle feeding or diaper changing would be challenging on the phone.
    neludelu
  • Loading the player...
  • I wish I could work from home to be with my kiddos! Good luck! I'm sure it'll go better than you think and easier :)
  • Loading the player...
  • I work from home and I'm not allowed to have the baby with me when I am on the clock.
  • You will want to pump for every bottle feeding. I assume you will take a lunch and get a morning and afternoon break? So you probably could get LO on a schedule to nurse at those times and may be able to avoid the pump all together. Are you allowed to block any of your schedule out to reserve nursing/pumping times? If you're doing the bottle feeding, I'm not sure you're saving yourself any time?