Babies: 6 - 9 Months
Options

Feeling frustrated

Hi. I'm new to this part of the boards. My LO turned 6 months on June 3 and the first week was ok and now he's fussy and clingy nonstop and I can't get anything done without him wailing and screaming. I know he's teething and that's uncomfortable and I try to help when I can. But as soon as I hold him he stopes fussing....usually. Sometimes it just continues and I can't console him no matter what. And he will not go down for his third nap easily anymore. It's taking me up to an hour just to get him to sleep. This hour consists of crying, screaming, wailing, pick up-soothe-put down, rock, sing, check diapers, check hunger....I do everything I can to make sure he's not hurt or anything and it's just tiring me out day after day. If he doesn't go down for this nap, he goes to bed early by 1-2 hours and that is just hard for me because I and my husband both work and I'm the main caretaker (night feedings:me, day time watching: me when I'm off) basically everything baby falls on me so when he doesn't sleep and I have to work I'm dead.

Any moms have similar experiences with their 6mo? Or have any advice to get LO to fall asleep easier? I've also though he may not be tired so I take him out and we play but the whole time his face is heavy and he's yawning and I put him down again. I'm just at my wits end dealing with this for about a week now.

Re: Feeling frustrated

• Options
    As anything with babies - it's a phase and it will pass. I would insist on making baby take that nap since he is clearly a mess without it. A little bit of fussing before nap is ok. I found with BOTH my kids that the more I went back to rock/pat/soothe them, the worse they got. They were being overstimulated and me going back in was just a tease. They would have a bigger meltdown when I would leave the room again.