2nd Trimester

Mixed Italian Sub made me guilty

Just had a mixed Italian Sub. Feeling guilty. I usually eat all organic and natural. This is my first time having cold cuts my entire pregnancy. I am 22 weeks. It was all Applegate meat which has no nitrates, but still feel a little guilty. I just needed to break the rules a little. Anyone else?

Re: Mixed Italian Sub made me guilty

• I eat anything I want to eat with the exception of, deli meat, hot dogs, few types of fish, no caffeine or liquor, no liquorice, no soft cheese. My OB has told me to stay away from the above.
  • JinnelJinnel member
    I usually do too. But deli meat is bad because of the nitrates. This particular deli meat has no nitrates. I figured once in awhile doesn't hurt. One of my friends ate bologna sandwiches when she was pregnant and my other friend would do a mixed Italian once in awhile. I'll never do Bologna and if I ever would do deli again it would have to be Applegate. Look up Applegate Farms if you ever want to cheat.
  • Loading the player...
  • JinnelJinnel member

You are fine. Do not feel guilty. If you normally eatt a well balanced diet, one cold cut sandwich will not be harmful. I ate healthy most of my pregnancy, but sometimes you just need to "give in" and eat something "not so good for you."

Thanks Sunrise! I needed to hear that. I really do eat well. I just need to break the rules once in awhile.
  • The way I see it honestly is stick to safe foods if you can but if your craving something little bit of what you fancy won't hurt! Remember, billions of babies have been born way way way before all these health and safety food options where introduced and been just fine ! If it was that terrible to completely avoid caffeine fish deli meats etc etc nobody would be here today! As long as your eating well the other time a little bit of cheating isn't bad :) xx
  • rue:Drue:D member