Breastfeeding
Options

Machine shop and breastfeeding?

I'm a CNC set up tech. I'm one of every few women in my work place, and I'm 20 weeks pregnant. I'm researching my pumping options, and while I haven't had a chat with HR yet, I'm not seeing many myself. The building I work in has only 3 offices with doors, and one of those has a window into the shop, one glass door (and is the maintenance office, and while our maintenance guys are very nice, I think this is crossing too many boundaries. The other is the production managers, and I don't even want to talk about him. The supply closets we have are literal closets, just shelves, no room for even a chair, and some of those have windows too. The bathrooms are all single rooms but, 2, I share with 15 men (one of those, confusingly has a shower stall in it), and the official women's room (which is in the office part of the building) has the cat litter box too, oh and I can basically chat with the programmer, whose desk is on the other side of the wall while I'm in there (he doesn't have an office either, just a desk in the reception area).

At this point, I'm planning on pumping in my car. I know that my company has 50-60 employees, and is required to make accommodations, but I don't see an obvious solution because of the nature of my work place. It's literally a warehouse full of machinery. I don't even see a space where they could build me a room. I haven't read anything from other women working in industrial settings, so I'm hoping someone has dealt with this before or has ideas.

Has anyone pumped in their car? Which products worked for you?

There is a slight possibility that when I come back from maternity leave I'll be moved to the other building, which has a conference room and a larger supply closet, but walking there for breaks from my current building isn't feasible.

Thanks

Re: Machine shop and breastfeeding?

• Options