Adoption

Due Date This Week! Looking for Advice.

We were matched about 2 weeks ago, and the due date is fast approaching (January 7)!
Needless to say we have spent a lot of time preparing.  Thank goodness I am a teacher, and have been off from school.

I have a few questions-

1. Meeting with EM-.
  •  I remember seeing that some of you had given necklaces, and or lockets. Do you have any recommendations? (We gave EM flowers and photo albums when we first met. But I would like to give her something that would be more of a keepsake.)
  • Also- does anyone have any advice with interactions at the hospital? (Our agency gave us some advice, but this board has given me the best advice throughout this whole process- I can always use more)

2. Notifying People-  We live in PA- (30 revocation period, and we have to wait 72 hours until TPR)  I know a lot of people don't tell anyone until after the recovation period has ended. I dont think I will be able to go missing from work with no explanation for over a month.   I have never taken so much as a sick day, so even after 1 day people are going to talk.  I kind of want to "control the story" So does anyone have any advice here?

"Even miracles take a little time"

Re: Due Date This Week! Looking for Advice.

• 1. Red Envelope has some nice jewelry ideas. You may also want to consider a hospital care package: Robe, slippers, etc

I have no advice about hospital interactions. DD was an emergency placement, so we spent maybe 3 hours total at the hospital, mostly with her birth mom

2. We adopted in PA as well. Work knew well in advance that we were adopting, and could leave at any time. I wanted all my ducks lined up in case my CWs had to step in. I told my boss we were adopting, and it could happen any time. He was very supportive. I also told a handful of CWs I was close with, including one who had adopted as well.