3rd Trimester

Working up until due date

I'm a teacher and just had two weeks off for Christmas break- I go back on Monday and have 3 weeks until my due date- I can't hardly wait! I plan to work up until the baby comes to maximize my maternity leave time with the baby, but as a first time mom-to-be, I have no idea what to expect or when to expect her to come. Is anyone else planning on working up until the baby comes? Is anyone else worried or nervous about having contractions at work?

Re: Working up until due date

• I worked up until my son was born, and plan to do so again this time around.
  • I worked up till the day before my DD was born. I went to work and after work that night my contractions started. Instead of work this next day, I headed to L&D. I was 6 days over due. So I worked past my due date, to maximize my time off when she arrived.
  • Loading the player...
  • it seems like that timing always happens- that people start having contractions after the work day- i really haven't heard of anyone i know starting contractions during the work day. i hope it's the same for me!
  • As a teacher , if you're still comfortable standing up all day, go for it. I have worked with several women who worked until they went into labor but it was a bit easier as I have a desk job. We also have the ability to log in and work from home so lots of women do that for the last week or so if they're getting uncomfortable. I plan to do that if I need to. Good luck!
  • My doula recommended that if possible, I take a few days off before my due date. Her rationale was that labor is like a marathon, and you want to go in feeling rested and ready for the longest, most trying race of your life! My hope is also deliver completely medication-free, so that factored into the decision.