Two Under 2

Toddler Activities

How does the 2u2 crew handle toddler activities with a baby? What type of activities do you do? How do(did) you coral both the toddler and the baby? Toddler is 19 months, baby is 5 weeks.
                We're Going to be a Family of 5!

Lilypie - (PaHE) Lilypie - (4noI)

Lilypie - (2q9u)

Re: Toddler Activities

• Our main toddler activity is toddler time (basically a play group) twice a week. I've gone since DS was about a month old and DD was 14 months old. While DS was still in the sleepy stage, I just left him in his car seat away from all the curious little hands. Then, I graduated to wearing him. When he got to be 5 or 6 months old, I started putting him on the floor while I sat next to him. Finally, he just started playing alongside the other kids. The whole time DD just played and enjoyed herself. I have to say that we have great parents in our group, so we all chip in when someone is there with 2+ hands and needs help for a moment.

Besides toddler time, we go to the park and I just used the stroller with DS until he got big enough to explore on his own. We've gone to story time at the library as a family, and the carrier was nice for DS when there wasn't room for a stroller because the room was too small. We also go to church every Sunday, and DD went to the nursery after the first hour while DS went to adult Sunday School with me. On weeks when DH had to work, a teenage boy who loves our kids would sit with me to be an extra set of hands for the first hour.

Basically, I love our sit and stand stroller, our Moby, and our Ergo. By going hands free to care for my infant and not being afraid to ask for help from willing friends, I could get out almost anywhere we wanted to go. Outings save our sanity. I don't plan to slow down once we have our 3u3, but I will plan a bit more time for getting in and out of the car.
    Mommy to N (3), J (2), and C (10 months). LO4 is due in mid-September.