Homeschooling
Options

Ug.

Why do bad school days always have to happen when my husband is home and listening? We can have a hundred great days in a row, then he'll sit in on one lesson and it's pure hell. I feel like he must think that C isn't learning anything and I'm the worst teacher ever! I feel like I'm getting less and less homeschooling support from him because of it. :(

I'm not sure what to do about this. We've taken a lot more unschooling method this year, with a lot of free time and reading heavy (focusing on comprehension and fact recall after reading), and of course, math. I feel like he doesn't believe me when I tell him about successful days. I don't know how to show him everything she learned.

How do you get support? DH was only half supportive of homeschooling in the first place. He would rather seems kids to public school with "paid" teachers — even though I have my master's in teaching.
                We're Going to be a Family of 5!

Lilypie - (PaHE) Lilypie - (4noI)

Lilypie - (2q9u)

Re: Ug.

• Options
    Do you think your husband would be more supportive if he were more involved on a consistent basis?  Is there a certain subject in which he has extra experience or passion?  You don't have to do lessons M-F while he is at work.  Perhaps you could start saving history or science or whatever else he seems to be really interested in for the weekends or other times he is home.  I think that if he starts having fun with the teaching and witnessing your DD making the connections and learning, he'll have a better understanding of the benefits of homeschooling.