Homeschooling
Options

Survived My First Day Back in the Saddle

We had a very lazy summer, with very little formal schooling.  Today was our first official day of the new school year (we start early so we can take all of December off to focus on Advent).  This is my first year with two kids "officially" in "school".  Thank goodness the girls still take naps, because I'm going to need those quiet, undistracted hours every afternoon to get stuff done with the boys!!

Re: Survived My First Day Back in the Saddle

• Options
    so how did the first week go?
    I was planning to start today. Dd woke up sick. Ds has been entertaining himself all morning. So now I am going with tomorrow and going through Friday. My plan was to school Monday-Thursday. I have been talking to him for the past few weeks about how we are going to be starting school. He seems very excited to be doing something more official.
                    Our Blessing From God Through Adoption
    Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker
                   Our Blessing After TTC for 6 Years (natural birth!)
                             EBFing, CDing, BWing, SAHM
  • Options
    Thanks for asking, @babywisher!

The first week was a learning experience.  I had to sit back and re-evaluate this past weekend and make some adjustments to our routine.  I'm very satisfied with the curricula we chose and the work load I created for the kids, but it was impossible to get stuff done with both of the little girls causing distractions.  Sadly, I had to part with naptime, which has always been the time of the day where I get to relax and do my own thing.  Now, when the girls are napping from 1-3:30 is when I am getting the bulk of work done with the boys.  It makes lessons go much more smoothly.  I'm patient, because I'm not dealing with 5000 interruptions, and I feel like the boys are also less distracted.  I'm still grieving the loss of my quiet mid-day free time, but I knew it wouldn't last forever, so whatever.