Adoption
Options

Real talk on considering adoption

I know the issue of adoption is a really sensitive subject, so I apologize if I say anything offensive as I am new to the adoptive issue.  I am struggling with my infertility, and my husband tells me not to worry and that worst case scenario we will adopt, so we'll have a child no matter what.  My sister-in-law and pretty much everyone else asks me if I will adopt. My true answer is as follows:

My first reaction is that I don't want to adopt. I want my own child with my own genes and my husband's genes that is from the same line that all of my family and his family comes from.  It frightenes me a bit to think that I would have no idea where my child is coming from and what they will grow up to look like.  I feel like I picked my husband in part because I wanted to make a child with him based on his personality, physical features, etc. that would mix with my own in child-making. I'm afraid that I wouldn't bond with the child and the child would be damaged and mad that their parents gave them away and that would lead to huge troubles in the household. I've read that some adoptive children always feel like they don't fit in with their family. 

I'm not saying that the idea of adopting and having a child that I love doesn't sound better than having no child at all.  In a perfect adoptive scenario I would want to adopt a child and feel this intense loving bond and just feel like they are mine and that my baby would love me like their mother and then they would not wish that their parents had kept them.  I would want my family and my husband's family to accept them as their own and not ever bring up the fact they are adopted.

I guess I am just looking for real talk on the positives and negatives on adoption and that hopefully the positives outweigh the negatives.

Did any of you have fears like mine before you turned to adoption but you were proved wrong when you brought your child home?