2nd Trimester
Options

Help! FTM, SINGLE PARENT, MILITARY

Hello ladies:) I really need all the advice I can get right now. I'm a first time mom due in mid Oct. My husband and I are both active duty but are separating in the next couple weeks. I'm stationed thousands of miles away from the nearest family member with no real support system (besides the Marines I work with which are mostly male and well yeah they don't count). I have zero experience with babies/kids so I have no idea what I need to buy besides the obvious bottles and diapers n things. My husband will have no place in the babies life so I will be doing everything myself. Is there a website you guys recommend that can walk me step by step in what to do to prepare, what to buy etc.
Active duty USMC separating from H BFP #1 Dec '07 daughter Lyf stillborn at 20wks BFP #2 Feb '14 Baby boy EDD Oct 19, 2014

Re: Help! FTM, SINGLE PARENT, MILITARY

• Options
    Honestly The Bump is a great place to go. You can try searching and looking at previous threads that others have posted with similar questions. I'd suggest going to your Birth Month group since all of those women will be around the same due date as you. I've found this place to be great for getting advice and support.
  • Options
    Also, if you look around on the website, there's a section somewhere that I'm pretty sure has some check lists for stuff like what you're looking for.
  • Loading the player...
  • Options
    edited April 2014
    There is a military board here, you might get some more specific military help there. My H is Army and in the Army we have Family Readiness Groups, do the Marines have something similar? It's a group of mainly spouses who are there to help in situations like this. They would help bring you meals in the beginning, watch the baby while you shower/nap, pretty much just help in any way they can since many military members and their families are not near their traditional support system.