Cloth Diapering
Options

Question about stink...

Hi ladies!  I am still pretty new to cloth (just started using cloth on my 2 year old about 2 months ago) and mostly lurk on The Bump, but did post a question about leaking issues a little while ago and you were a big help so I figured I'd throw another question at you :)  The majority of my stash was purchased used from an acquaintance and I have also bought 6 various other kinds of diapers new to try out.  

My question is... when you have to strip your diapers due to a stink issue... what do the diapers stink like?  My diapers don't smell like poop or pee or ammonia when they are clean, but I think they smell like toilet water.  It isn't necessarily a bad smell, but it isn't good either, ya know?  Does this mean I am due for a strip?  Or when people strip their diapers because of stink, is it like poop and pee smell?  I have never stripped the diapers before and really hate to do it if it isn't necessary because I have a front loader washing machine and think this means I will have to strip in the bathtub, which sounds like a hassle.  Really, it is mostly my pocket diapers and diaper covers that smell like toilet water (both the ones I got new and the used ones) and the inserts that I use don't have an odor when they are clean.  Is that just the way the PUL starts to smell after being used and laundered?  Any light you can shed on this issue would be greatly appreciated!  Thanks!

Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker

Re: Question about stink...

• Options
    Are you open to doing a bleach cycle?  Just add 1/4 cup bleach then do an extra, extra rinse.  I'd bleach any used diapers before using anyhow.  But I'm not anti bleach.
    TTC with PCOS since November 2009
    IUI#1 Femara/Ovidrel (cd 3-7) = BFP, m/c
    IUI#2 Femara/Ovidrel (cd 5-9) = BFN
    IUI#3 Femara/Ovidrel (cd 3-7) = BFP!
    beta #1 11/23 = 270, P4 = 75
    beta #2 11/28 = 2055
    Our daughter E was born 7/29/2012!