Food Allergy
Options

new here - some questions

Hi ladies! I hope you don't mind if I join in:)  I'm a bit of a lurker these days because I'm so busy but I've been on the bump since I had my daughter 4 years ago.  Well now we have a baby boy (8 months) who has some pretty serious allergies.  He is severely allergic to wheat and eggs and slightly allergic to milk.  My brother had the same allergies and more growing up so I know it's genetic and I'm fairly comfortable dealing with it, but here are my concerns.

He is totally fine with breast milk no matter what I eat which is great except I work full time and pumping enough each day is extremely difficult and very stressful  I'm a teacher (year round schedule) and I was just off for 5 weeks in which I nursed him exclusively and he was totally fine, gaining weight, sleeping well, ect.  Now I've been back at work for just a week and today I could only pump 4 oz over two pumping sessions.  I honestly want to take a leave just to stay home and feed him but we cannot survive without my income so leave without pay is not an option.  We thought he might be ok with formula since his milk allergy is slight (class 1) but both times with tried recently he had a rash and was itchy.  He is not allergic to soy but I've read really bad things about babies having soy.  What other option is there?  and is it even affordable?  will insurance help at all?

My other concern is our baby sitter.  We love her but I'm worried that DS might be more than she can handle, she has 3 kids of her own (12, 4, and 2) plus my four year old DD and 8 month DS.  She's a stay at home mom, not a licensed day care provider.  She is great with the kids and so loving, but she tends to have a bit of a messy house and her 4 year old is pretty wild.  I just worry that he's going to be grabbing food, crusts from sandwiches or cherrios on the floor now that he's crawling.  Soon he'll be walking and then what?