Homeschooling

Anyone using My Fathers Work Kindergarten?

I am totally new to homeschooling (and to this board)and am so excited to start my son in Kindergarten this year!  Since we are still pretty early in the school year I wondered if anyone had experience with this program or have any tips? Any imput appreciated! Thanks!

Daisypath Anniversary tickers Lilypie Kids Birthday tickers Lilypie Third Birthday tickers

Re: Anyone using My Fathers Work Kindergarten?

• I am using it right now with my two boys.  I'm sort of documenting the process in my blog - link in my signature.

So far, I like the skeleton of the curriculum.  I feel like it needs a lot of supplementation in phonics, and especially math.  Math is pretty non-existent.  The phonics work is good for Pre-K, but not anywhere close to where a Kindergartner needs to be. 

But, the teacher's guide is well put together, IMO, and the ideas in it are wonderful.  My kids are loving it.

DO you have any specific questions about it?

• Thanks for the info! Ill def check out your blog.  I guess the only specific question I can think of right now is what programs would you recommend to use as supplements?
    Daisypath Anniversary tickers Lilypie Kids Birthday tickers Lilypie Third Birthday tickers
  • Loading the player...
  • Well, for math we're supplementing with Saxon 1.  Everyone prefers different methods, so you just need to decide what kind of math you want - Saxon, Singapore, Math-U-See - those are all popular.  We're actually thinking of switching curriculum when we finish this year, because the Saxon work is too redundant for my son.  He's way ahead in math and gets bored with the repetition in the Saxon curriculum, so we're going to try something else.  Possibly Harcourt, but we'll see.