Babies: 0 - 3 Months
Options

Need opinions from new moms for my business

Hi new moms, I hope I'm allowed to ask this.  I'd like to get opinions from as many new moms as possible, so I thought I'd ask here.  I'm a newborn photographer and since starting my business, I've been doing my photography at people's homes.  After a few months of this, I'm debating whether it would be better do to my sessions out of my own home.  There are pro's and con's to each option.  Some advantages of doing it on location are:  1.  new parents can have sessions done in the comfort of their own home and don't have to travel anywhere 2.  in addition to posed pictures, I can take pictures of the family on their bed or couch or in their yard, etc.  The cons are that 1.  People have to move furniture to create a big enough space for my set up.  2.  I bring a ton of stuff with me 3.  People's houses are generally pretty messy right after bringing home a baby and don't want pictures of themselves or their house.  4.  Not everyone has good light in their house for pictures. 

The good things about doing it at my house are 1.  I have a room right inside my front door that gets awesome light and is large enough for 2 set ups and a couple chairs or couch. 2.  People don't have to prepare for the session.  3.  We don't waste session time on setting up b/c I can have it done clients arrive.  The bad parts are:  1.  I have 2 little boys so people might worry about visiting a germy house (I can block off and disinfect the room and have my kids stay upstairs with a sitter).  2.  Bringing a baby to an essentially stranger's house could make people nervous  3.  Having to pack up baby and leave the house might be inconvenient.  Plus, having to drive to my house.  For many clients, it would be up to 30 minutes.