Pre-School and Daycare

Bday party advice needed

I'm throwing a bday party for both of my DD's this weekend. It's at a gymnastics studio, and it's just open play (no structured activities) for an hour and then 30 minutes of eating time in another room. This is my first time planning a kids bday party, and I could use some advice. 

We have around 20 kids coming, plus the adults. I was planning on making two different kinds of cupcakes and having drinks (water and juice). Will this be enough food? Should I make more desserts, like cookies or brownies? I didn't want to have anything substantial because of the short amount of time we have to eat, and the party is at 3:30 pm.

For the favors, I made hand kites like these:

I was also going to make some chocolate dipped pretzel rods. Do you think that will be enough, or should I get something else to add to the favor bags? I'll probably have them pick out the hand kites and use them at the party so the only thing in the bags will be the pretzels. 

TIA!

Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker

Re: Bday party advice needed

• I would assume pizza or sandwiches would be served.  I know 4:30 is a little early, I would just always assume there would be a meal involved.  I think just cup cakes are fine, I don't think too many adults really pile up deserts or would want their kids doing that, especially if they're going to be going home for dinner.  I also would think you're better off leaving the kites in the bag and save them for home.  If the kids start taking stuff out they'll also probably eat the pretzels, bags and crumbs will be all over the gym floor, and the kids that don't go throw it will be stuck trying to figure out which bag is theirs.  I think it would be easier just to give them out as kids go home.