November 2013 Moms
Options

I'm home...now maternity leave questions

Just got home from our trip to Cali.  SOOOOOO glad to be home!!!  We had a great time, did a lot and now I need another vacation to recover from this one. Good thing I'm a teacher with another few weeks to go before school starts up :-)  Also wanted to thank all of you ladies who gave advice on the compression socks.  They helped a bit and my calves didn't feel tight.....my ankles on the other hand are still a bit of a disaster. But, I guess that's expected for this time right?!?!

Anyway, I realized that tomorrow I have a workshop to find out how my maternity leave works.  I am not sure what to expect or what kind of questions to ask. Are there any other teachers (I'm elementary) out there with advice or good questions for me to ask?  I know the basics of the leave.   But based on what other coworkers have told me, I'm already feeling overwhelmed with all of their (NYC DOE) rules and procedures, so any help would be appreciated!!!

Thanks so much!!!!  

Re: I'm home...now maternity leave questions

• Options
    I'm a teacher in NJ and rules here are based on the contract with your district so they vary a lot. You definitely want to find out how much sick time you can use (I'm limited to 20 days before and 20 after but friends in other districts can use all they have) and how long you have your benefits for after the birth and if you can cobra them if needed. You may want to find out restrictions such as will you get to return to your same school and grade level or at what point they can reassign you. If you know any teachers in your school who recently had a maternity leave they would be great to talk to. Good luck!
  • Options