Homeschooling

Why do you homeschool?

Sheer curiosity, no judgement, etc.  I am a public school teacher and have thought many times of homeschooling but the thought of planning for all of the grades every year and then to do it for everyday feels overwhelming.  I know as a 4th year 4th grade teacher I spend at least 2 hours per day planning out the coming lessons and more hours than I can count in the summer (and thats just for one grade!).  How do you do it?  And, why?  I know the districts around here are awesome so that is an advantage for me that some lack but are there other reasons?  Thanks :)
Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml

Re: Why do you homeschool?

• I just lurk here since my LO is only 6 months old. However, before trying to get pregnant DH and I decided we would home school. It has nothing to do with the quality of schools in a specific neighborhood but in the overall quality of the public school system. Our reasons break down like this

1) We don't believe in teaching to the test.

2) Having attended Universities right out of HS we realized they did nothing to prepare us to succeed in college. We had only learned how to memorize material, not how to interpret it, analyze it, and form articulate opinions. 

3) I am a SAHM, currently unable to work due to my medical conditions so we cannot cover the expense of the private school we like. 

4) By the end of this year I will have completed my degree in Sociology with a minor in Child Development. If I am still unable/don't want to work at that time I would feel better about spending all that money for college if I put my degree to use by home schooling. 

Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker

Lilypie First Birthday tickers
  • ObLaDiObLaDi member

We are philosophically opposed to the structure of standard schooling: pre-chosen curriculum, sitting in a classroom, grades, etc.