Miscarriage/Pregnancy Loss
Options

Update and Question

I haven't been around in a while because I have been swamped at work (I'm an accountant) since I was off for 2 weeks. Here is a background of me:

I had a d&c on 3/27. I was supposed to be 13 weeks and the baby stopped growing at 12.5 weeks. They sent everything off for testing and it came back that our baby had triploid syndrome. That just means that instead of having the normal 46 chromosomes (23 from mom and 23 from dad) he had an extra set of 23 for a total of 69 (XXY). My brother had kleinfelter's syndrome which is 1 extra chromorsome (47) so we are being referred to a genetic counselor to see if this could be a genetic thing. I doubt that, but we will find out. It is just so nice to finally have an answer and something to blame. I wish everyone got the comfort of having a reason. I'm lucky in this regard.

My question relates to my d&c. It will be 5 weeks this Wednesday. I stopped bleeding at the 3.5 week mark, but I am still having brownish muscus. I go through 2ish panty liners a day so it isn't a ton, but it is annoying and a constant reminder. My doc scheduled an u/s for next week to make sure she got everything. I'm kind of worried that she didn't because that would make me have surgery again. Has anyone been through this before? I feel like I should be done with the discharge by now.

I also think I had a period already. I started breaking out really bad (which I still am) and had back pains and light cramping at about the 2.5-3.5 week mark. I haven't had any other bleeding since then. I'm guessing my next cylce will be either next week or the week after.

I'm just feeling like the exception and not the rule and that isn't comforting at all. Thanks for reading and sorry this got so long.

Lost baby at 13 weeks due to triploidy syndrome D&C 3/27/13 repeat D&C 5/8/13Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker

Re: Update and Question

• Options