Austin Babies

New to Austin

Hi!

I just moved here to Austin and I dont really know anyone.  How do you meet people?  Id like to meet some other moms/moms to be.  Its been getting so lonely here!  Im at 34 weeks now, looking for some other moms to hang out with :)  Please let me know if you have any ideas!

Re: New to Austin

• Welcome!  It's a great place to live!

I've met a lot of moms from this site, though they have all migrated to another site. Lately I have joined Meetups and gone to different free events around town like playgroups and library times.  Have you taken a birth class?  I keep in touch with a mom from my group so that could be another option for you!  

Good luck!  I know how it feels to move to a new place since I am a transplant and moved here over 6 years ago!

Baby Birthday Ticker Tickerimage

• Hi! I'm new to Austin, too, and I was wondering the same thing --- how to meet other expectant moms. I would love to hear more about your story! I live in NW Austin. What part of town are you in?
  • Loading the player...
  • Im in South Austin - A friend of a friend told me to check out this website https://www.meetup.com/cities/us/tx/austin/

looks like there are only 2 that are "mommy" related.  Other than that the only other suggestion she told me was going to church?  I dont go to church so Im not sure if that would be the best fit for me.

Other than that, I dont really know where else to look!  I took a labor class that ends tonight but the group wasnt really the mingling type (i was hoping to connect with someone there)

Ill message you my email and i can tell you what i find out! (and vice versa)

Good luck!

• I'm newish to Austin too, and I'm in the SW too. It is hard to meet people, but I take a prenatal yoga class at Say OM Yoga at Mopac/Slaughter and the moms in that group are super nice. They are also super helpful at suggesting other resources for meeting moms. The class is on Sunday at 10am. Let me know if you want any other info!