Dads & Dads-to-be
Options

Homebrewing

Saw in the Thursday check in that FloridaGatorHubs is a brewer.  Any other brewers here?

I've been brewing for almost 4 years.  I just finished building a 10 gallon electric all grain system.  I mostly stick to hoppier styles, but my best beer is a vanilla stout I have been working on for awhile.  It is my wife's favorite beer.  As long I keep making that I can keep brewing!

Re: Homebrewing

• Options

DW bought me a kit for Christmas. I haven't opened it yet.

I am curious about your vanilla stout recipe.

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/BhqjipgCIAAOz7H.jpg
    -My son was born in April 2012. He pretty much rules.
  • Options

What kind of kit?

I'll try to remember to post my recipe when I'm home tonight.

• Loading the player...
  • Options
    I don't brew, but I am an accomplished taste-tester....Wink
    BabyFetus Ticker
  • Options
    I brew small batches.  my last IPA was killer.  I have a honey ale on deck even though I should probably do a porter or something before the snow melts.
    there are two motivations in sports, which is yours?
  • Options

imageKalElFan:

Brewers need people like you!

• Options

Vanilla Stout

10.5 lbs Pale Malt
    10 oz Black Patent
    6 oz Chocolate Malt
    1 oz Cluster (7%) - 60 min
    1 oz Goldings (4%) - 20 min
    Wyeast 1084 Irish Ale
    1.5 TBS Vanilla Extract - Secondary - 2 weeks

• Options
    It is not overbearing.  I put in less than the recipe I started with a couple years ago.  I wanted it to be an aspect of the beer, not the only aspect of the beer.  But as with any spices etc. I would say start small and build to where you like it.

• Options

Can I ask you guys a question?

How long does it typically take to brew an IPA?

I ask because my H is going to be doing this soon and I need to know. 

• Options
    For me it's usually 6-8 weeks until I'm drinking it.  Could be done faster though.

• Options

imagePrime: