Late Term and Child Loss

Coping...

Hello,

My husband and I lost our first son 6 days after being delivered at full term about 9 weeks ago. I have since returned back to work about 3 weeks ago. I work in healthcare and I am have trouble being empathetic towards my patients. Before my loss I was always extremely caring. Now I feel like I am at the opposite end and having trouble feeling any sort of empathy for my patients. Don't get me wrong, I still put all my thought, care, and expertise in caring for my patients but I nothing seems to get me sad anymore. I feel like I have become a person who people feel I don't care because I am at a loss of emotions at all times.

Anyone else work in healthcare or have any suggestions to help my empathy towards others back? I feel like I have become "numb".

Thanks in advance for any suggestions.

http://wwwcirillofamily.blogspot.com/

BFP#1 12/23/11 EDD 8/29/12. Frank P. Cirillo IV born on 8/19/12 at 2:34am. Grew his wings and went to heaven on 8/25/12.
My sweet angel Frankie. Love you so much!

BFP #2 5/21/13 EDD 1/25/14 Sam Frank P. born 1/17/14 Our rainbow baby is here!!

January 2015 PAL- Advice image

Re: Coping...

• I'm so sorry for your loss and sorry to have to welcome you here considering the circumstances. Did you name your son? I don't work in healthcare so I can't directly speak to your situation. The only thing I can say is that your loss is still new and you're still grieving. I think your empathy will return it is just going to take time and isn't something that can be rushed. Be gentle with yourself. If other people have issues with how you appear to be feeling well then that is their problem. Another thought would be using your healing process to connect with your patients. Letting them know that you're hurting/mad/scared/upset/sad/numb and sympathize with their concerns.

{{hugs}}

BFP #1 - Missed M/C, D&C 3.21.11

BFP #2 - Sylvie V. Q. born and died on 10.28.11 at 21w. Lilypie Angel and Memorial tickers