Parenting
Options

Bedtime meltdowns/ sorry, long

Hi ladies! I'm kinda new to TB. I lurk often and reply a little but now I have my own question. My 6yr old daughter is a great kid. Im a pretty no nonsense mom and thats tough sometimes. We have good structure and routine and everything runs smooth most of the time. My question is why do kids have to do everything possible to stay up 5 minutes more? Tonight she was fine all night. Playing, running, laughing, then after I tucked her in her belly started hurting sooooo bad and she had to go number 2 but couldn't. I said that she needed to go lay down, relax, and when she had to go she could get up and go then get back in bed. The water works start and suddenly shes dying. I explain the whole girl who cried wolf thing.  We try to make a "punishment" that relates to the problem so we decided that bedtime needs to move up a half hour to compensate for the drama. I feel bad inside because kids really commit once they convince themselves of their woes. She wasn't sick for sure but I feel like she really thinks she was and I'm punishing her for feeling sick.Deep down I know that shes just tryin to push her limits but, does she know that. She goes to extremes too. Her dad and I are divorced, ( He and I and my husband now have a great relationship shes not in any tough family situation) but at bedtime sometimes she suddenly misses her dad and starts crying. I dont want to act like I know this is just a show but it is! Do I console? Do I tell her shes full of crap? She does it for a few days then stops for a few weeks.  

Mommy of two

Re: Bedtime meltdowns/ sorry, long

• Options