School-Aged Children

How different is 1st grade than K?

My kids will be completing K in a couple of weeks!  They are in a typical K classroom at a public school.  Is 1st grade quite a bit different from K?  If so, how?  Also, what can I do to keep their skills sharp over the summer?  TIA
Wendy Twins 1/27/06. DS and DD

Re: How different is 1st grade than K?

• I am an elementary teacher.  I taught 2nd before being furloughed.  I have no experience teaching K but did my student teaching in 1st.  1st isnt that much different than K.  In the beginning half of the year they will hit on skills they learned in K and then move on to newer, harder material.  I think the biggest difference in 1st is that they are expected to do more independent work.  Other than that they're very close to one another. 

As for things to do over the summer... READ!  Keep your kids reading to you, with you, listening to you read.  Do some fun activities with letters- make them out friut, spaghetti, shaving cream.  Have them name the letter and what the sound it makes.  You could also do with with numbers and have them identify the number.

Have fun!  I'm sure they will transition just fine!  

Daisypath Happy Birthday tickers
  • ppantsppants member
    Thanks for the info. They still listen to me read stories before bed. They are bringing home Saxon books that they read to me nightly. What books would you recommend for them to read? I did email their teachers for suggestions also.
  • Loading the player...
  • My son is about to finish 1st, and he had the same teacher in K as in 1st.  I'd say that 1st is a logical next step from K.  

Kids do more extensive writing; they are expected to work somewhat more independently and for longer periods of time, they may be asked to move to another teacher for reading or math group when groups are established, there may be more long term projects.