LGBT Parenting
Options

*leapgirl* -- question?

Thought I'd try to get to you before the babies do! Big Smile

I thought I remembered you talking in the past about having knee problems related to running, and I was wondering what you did to keep running without damaging them.  Any advice, resources?  I've been running for about 16 months and my knees are really starting to feel it.  I'm not running super long distances (about 5k per workout, 3x/week), I'm on a treadmill, and I have good shoes.  I'm worried that I'm going to have to give this up if I don't make some kind of change.

TIA!

Married my wife 8/2007 ~ TTC #1 since 7/2011
9 IUIs = 9 BFNs
IVF October 2012: 22 eggs retrieved, 17 fertilized, 5 frozen
ET #1: 1 blast = BFP; Blighted ovum discovered at 7w5d; D&E
FET #1: 1 blast = BFP; Missed m/c discovered at 9w5d; D&E
Karyotyping: normal ~ RPL Testing: normal ~ Hysteroscopy: normal
FET #2: 1 blast transferred 10/25; BFP 10/31!
EDD 7/13/14 ~ Induced at 37w4d due to pre-eclampsia ~ Born on 6/28/14
*Everyone welcome*

Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker

Re: *leapgirl* -- question?

• Options

Yep, that was me! I had occasional pain in both knees after long races, but after the Atlanta Half-Marathon in 2010 my left knee got so bad that I couldn't walk down stairs without wincing/serious pain. I ended up dropping out of the Disney Marathon in early 2011 because I couldn't run and had started too far back to stay ahead of the sag wagon at a walking pace. My first orthopedist told me that I was too old to run and should find something else to do. Thanks Mr. Helpful. I found a new one who specialized in sports injuries and he confirmed my self-diagnosed IT band injury. He sent me to a physical therapist who was very helpful, and by religiously using the information she gave me at home I was able to race triathlons (max run distance 6 miles) that summer, and run the Portland Marathon in the fall.